0 0

Jean Mensa sworn in as new EC Chair

headlines 0 0

President Nana Akufo-Addo has sworn in Mrs Jean Mensa, former Executive Director of the Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA) as the new Chair of the Electoral Commission (EC) of Ghana.

He also swore in a political science lecturer at the University of Ghana, Dr Eric Asare Bossman; Ms Adjoa Esuama Abrefa, a corporate legal practitioner with specialisation in land property acquisition, and Samuel Tettey, Director of Electoral services in charge of elections at the Electoral Commission as deputy commissioners of the electoral management body.

This follows the removal from office on Thursday 28th June 2018 of the former chairperson of the EC, Mrs Charlotte Osei and the two deputies: Mr Amadu Sulley and Mrs Goergina Opoku Amankwah, by President Akufo-Addo after a committee established by the Chief Justice, Justice Sophia Akuffo to investigate petitions brought against them, recommended their removal.

Further, the retirement of Mrs Pauline Dadzawa, a member of the commission, on Monday 30th April 2018 created an additional vacancy within the commission.

The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Jubilee House on Wednesday, 1 August 2018.

Source: Ghana/AccraFM.com/100.5FM

Related Articles


    No comments to display
1 2

Post a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*

  This is an error message

© - 2019 Class Media Group All rights reserved.


Subscribe to our newsletter to received updates on Class FM. By subscribing, you agree to our terms and conditions